Spinning Flowers

I wanted to spin something different than I have before, so I pulled the most brightly-colored roving out of my stash, Dicentra Designs superwash merino top in a colorway called Aster.

Asters, courtesty wikimedia.org. Photographer Ettore Balocchi

But despite the colorway’s name, I couldn’t stop thinking of bright Violas as I spun this wonderful merino.

The resulting yarn is my thickest yet, a worsted-to-aran weight. About 3.5oz of merino fiber spun into 220 yards of 2-ply yarn.

Here’s to the hope of spring and brightly-colored flowers!

10 thoughts on “Spinning Flowers

  1. Katie Ann says:

    Gorgeous!

  2. MOM says:

    Beautiful spring colors. And what is this destined to become?

    • Shawn says:

      I’m not sure yet. There’s not much yardage, only about 225yds. But I’m thinking a linen-stitch table mat or something that will lie flat and preserve the long color runs. I spun this fiber in a fractal style (will blog about that sometime) and so it *should* result in long (wide) color stripes of green, purple, and yellow with touches of the other colors. The cool thing about linen stitch is that it really does look woven, though it is knitted. I think it would particularly suit this yarn and save it as a sort of showpiece. We’ll see!

  3. Penny says:

    Pretty, pretty.
    I hope to purchase a new wheel in the next month or so. Jezebel, my vintage Ashford wheel, and I have yet to make yarn. I’m thinking about a Baynes single treadle.

    • Shawn says:

      OH MY!! I just bought a Lendrum DT folding wheel and LOVE IT! I forget, is Jezebel an Ashford Traditional? You have my respect for working a single… ! 🙂

  4. Penny says:

    I looked up images of the Linen stitch and it does appear to be woven. Very cool pattern. =)

    • Shawn says:

      Isn’t it amazing? I haven’t done any pieces with it yet, but I am itching to try. This seems like just the right yarn for it.

  5. Jean says:

    I love the pictures of the flowers that truly bring the colors in the yarn to a fullness that is artistic and creative! You are the BEST!

Leave a Reply

