Pushpins

I have a map on my office wall.

It is an old National Geographic map of the British Isles, printed in 1974.

A Traveler’s Map, eh? OK.

I mapped my travels.

These pushpins mark the trip I took around England (with a brief but memorable nip into Scotland) in September 2007. Though it is several years later, and though all my dearest friends will attest that I have a shocking memory, I remember much of this trip with amazing clarity and in detail.

It was one of those things that happen once in a lifetime, shaping who you are and how you are a person. I learned more about myself in that short 12-day trip than I have in any similar time period of my life. It was a time of awakening, realizations, new awarenesses, and an endless experience of Thin Places.

During this year of 2012, I’m planning to write a few posts to remember and celebrate some of the incredible things that happened during that adventure.

One of the first will focus here:

Particularly on the charming town of Ely and a memorable afternoon tea two lovely ladies and I shared at the Peacocks Tearoom.

Want to know more about Thin Places?  More here.

Happy weekend to all!

2 thoughts on “Pushpins

  1. George Peacock says:

    I can’t wait to hear about your visit to us in Ely

    • Shawn says:

      Oh my! Wow, how wonderful that you have visited my blog. I’m so glad to see you here. Ely was magical in all the right ways, and my trip to your beautiful teahouse was perfect – memorable, wonderful tea, best friends, excellent service, and poinant touches of life. I have fallen behind in capturing that story, but seeing you here reminds me that I need to put down some words. Thank you for visiting – I am so happy to connect with you here.

Leave a Reply

