Breathing Easier

Right at the end of October I found out I had Diabetes. What a bummer, especially the timing. I was all set to jump into my rustic artisan bread challenge and was in full swing – and loving it – with autumn baking and cooking.

What a shock, and even more, what a disappointment to have to curtail my bread plans and other cooking projects. It seemed at that time that all of my loves – and my kitchen mysticism – were yanked right out from under me. I felt like I’d been set adrift in an angry, uncharted sea. I didn’t have a paddle. Most days I didn’t know which way the shore was. I joked with a friend that not only had most of my greatest passions (cooking and eating) been taken from me, so were my key coping mechanisms (cooking and eating). I was in mourning and doors were shut all around me.

So I had to build some new doors.

And here I am, about two months later. Time and education has helped immensely, and I feel so much better. Physically, I feel wonderful. Emotionally, I’ve travelled through some anger and loss and am moving forward with a shift in focus to continue to explore and revel in wonderful creativity and loving home-making.

More than ever, needle crafts and fiber arts are exciting me. I am finding new, beautiful, and inspiring people and crafts.

Natalie of leeleetea and her darling ‘Oh Deer’ mitts:

Adrian of HelloYarn (you may already know that she’s a favorite of mine, since I stash her yarns and fiber) and her incredible spinning prowess and colorwork designs – double mittens that are beautiful and include her signature high-contrast color combinations:

And last but absolutely not least, TinyOwlKnits and her magical concoctions:

The Beekeeper Quilt

Butterfly Catcher Mitts

Fairy Castles (with a knitterly surprise inside!)

And, thankfully, I’m re-claiming my kitchen mysticism… but with a twist. Instead of mixing and swirling foodstuffs, I’m mixing and swirling candles, fiber, and essential oils. (Sometimes together, sometimes not!) More to come on those things!

3 thoughts on “Breathing Easier

  1. Lindy says:

    So glad you are back to blogging–I’ve missed your writing. When can I come over for a cup of coffee & try out your new cups? 🙂

  2. Katie Ann says:

    Yay, Shawn! It is so good to see you back. Can’t wait to hear more about your new passions!

  3. Penny says:

    So happy to see you blogging once again! Health issues stink and I am also a member of that club.
    Take care of yourself.
    Merry Christmas and a Blessed New Year’s to You and Yours!

Leave a Reply

