Eggplant Parmigiana

The Captain and I made another batch of mozzarella on Sunday.

It’s even better than the first batch. I used all whole milk and the full 1-½ teaspoons of cheese salt that the recipe recommends. The yield was much more, though I didn’t weigh our final cheese. The taste was much yummier! The half teaspoon or so of extra salt really brought out the flavor in the cheese.

For our pizza on Sunday, we used only about a third of what we made.  So I was on the web this morning looking for a recipe that would really highlight it. What I found was this recipe for Eggplant Parmigiana.

It was delicious!

You know I never make anything exactly like I’m told to… and on this recipe I subbed jarred pasta sauce for the tomato sauce called for, to make the recipe super-speedy and easy. For the breadcrumbs, I started with about 1/3 cup and added about 1 teaspoon of light-flavored olive oil, some dried thyme and oregano, and a touch of kosher salt.

You start by roasting thick slices of eggplant at a high temperature, then use them to build stacks:

Then you build layers of eggplant, sauce, basil, mozzarella, and parmesan (Parmigiano Reggiano, of course).
Layer 1

The fresh basil, “chiffonade,” smelled incredible. I love that word, chiffonade. I always feel so master cheferly when I make those cuts. And it always looks so pretty.
Layer 2

ooooooooo – breadcrumbs on top!!!

They were crispy and a perfect foil to the creamy smoothness of the eggplant and mozzarella.

See?

Like I said: Yummy.

One thought on “Eggplant Parmigiana

  1. Katie Ann says:

    Simply gorgeous!
    And I’m still so VERY impressed by the homemade cheese, girl. This second batch looks AMAZING!!

Leave a Reply

