knit:tink – or, ‘Why I Shouldn’t Knit at Nite’

I am -thisclose- to pulling my hair out over these Kitchen Monkeys.

I have definitely solved the Pooch Problem. Heel flap length, without question.

Here’s my lovely re-knit sock:

My (previous and oh so wrong) line of reasoning: I have rather short, squat feet; therefore, I must need a short, wide heelflap. So although the pattern called for 30 rows of heel flap, I errantly decided that 24 would do nicely.

Although one would think this would be a logical line to draw from the physical facts, it is not, in fact, the answer. My (revised, and hopefully correct) line of reasoning as I move forward: I don’t need 24 rows for this pattern – I need 34.

La la la, all is good. By yesterday mid-day, I finished my first re-knit and it fits well! Yay! Solutions! Success!

So yesterday afternoon I frogged the second sock and put the live stitches back on the needles. Through the evening I knit away on the flap till I hit 34 rows. Watching a Netflixed episode of Poirot with the delectable Elliot Cowan made things move along nice and speedily. I finished the flap and went right on to knit up the gusset stitches on one side, the stitches for the top of the foot, and then the gusset stitches for the second side. After just that one row, something seemed odd. The flap was a little … er … poochy.

GAH! I FORGOT TO TURN THE HEEL! WHO FORGETS TO TURN THE HEEL!?!?

I just set down the sock and walked away.

This morning I’m staring at it, knowing that I have to either tink (unknit) about 100 stitches or else pull the needles, frog the row, and then get the live stitches back on the needles. Both options are painful and time consuming and I’m trying not to cry. (Well, not really. But you get the idea.)

So as a Moral to the Story, I offer you four reasons why I should not knit after 8 p.m. in the evening:

1) Since knitting can make me sleepy and dull-witted at the best of times (and honestly, that can be one of its dearest virtues), attempting to knit anything other than stockinette-in the round-in the evening is guaranteed to result only in pain, weeping, and gnashing of teeth. 2) I’m choosing to ignore the fact that the issue might not be what time of day I knit, but rather that I shouldn’t knit while watching lovely British men act while sporting lovely Irish accents. 3) Never promise a list of four things when you had only one good idea to begin with. And 4).

3 thoughts on “knit:tink – or, ‘Why I Shouldn’t Knit at Nite’

  1. MOM says:

    OK, you’ve got me…what’s #4? Throw them in the trash?

  2. Holly says:

    May I just say that those are righteously cute socks and totally worth all this pain. Plus, they match your website logo, which is just downright adorable.

    • Shawn says:

      Thank you so much! They are cute, and I’d never realized they matched the header until you pointed it out! That totally gave me incentive to power forward. 🙂 Hugs to you and your sweet girls.

Leave a Reply

