Sidetracked

In which I have perfectly good plans for the day that get thrown over for cake.

Part The First: Fie Upon You, Mail Order Catalog!

Yesterday was a great day. Beautiful sunshine, perfect autumn/late-summer weather, gettin’ stuff done around the house. Perfect.

That is, “perfect’ until I sat down with a week’s worth of mail to sort the junk from the bills. That’s when this little troublemaker made it into the Peruse Later pile.

Ah, King Arthur Flour Company, you never cease to make me covet many things between your glossy pages.

Like this

And this

Aaaaaaand this

But I was maintaining until I finished paging through the catalog and slapped the last page shut. Then this was staring me in the face:

Y U M ! ! !

King Arthur Flour, you are a major tease. You don’t print the recipe, but instead make me go to your website where I will be lured into buying many things. I won’t do i….. Where’s my INTERNET!!!

It took me about 30 seconds to get inside and read this funny blog post, and even before I was finished I knew I was making this glazed bucket of trouble that day – regardless of what other important, necessary, and well-meaning projects had already been on the docket. That was all wiped clean in a moment. I had apples! I had eggs! I had butter and brown sugar! I needed this cake, and I needed it NOW.

Then life hit me, and wouldn’t you know it but it was 7:00p.m. before I got back to CAKE. I’d made our dinner (gumbo!) and it was cookin’ down on the stove. It was getting late, and I could tell that I’d be doing the final steps of the baking prep after dinner, so in the moments between working on the meal I started measuring out all the ingredients for the cake.

The one thing that I didn’t have on hand was KAF’s special Boiled Cider, which was a featured ingredient for the cake. I refused to be slowed down by this minor fact, and subbed with the same volume of ½ maple syrup and ½ of my compost heap jelly, plus a dash of McCormick’s maple syrup flavoring (you keep a bottle of this on hand at all times, don’t you?).

Glaze

Cake wet ingredients

(Oops, thought I had a picture of this, but I don’t. Trust me, it looked just like the picture above, except about twice as much, and sitting in the mixing bowl of my trusty and beloved KitchenAid stand mixer.)

Cake dry ingredients (and every clean measuring spoon in the house)

So all was measured and prepped and ready to go as I sat down to eat with The Captain. As soon as we were finished (I may or may not have yanked the bowl out from under TC’s nose as he was forking the last bite into his mouth…), it was back to the kitchen to finish the prep & assembly.

Oh YEAH

This came together with incredible ease.

50 minutes later, and things were looking good. I gave it another 10ish minutes and a toothpick test came out perfectly clean.

Mmmmm. The whole house smelled like cinnamon and baked apples.

The denouement:

Oh! Pretty! Check ME OUT! Kitchen SKILLZZ!

More drizzly glaze for the top – no really, the recipe says to do this.

So very, very yummy.

The texture was similar to a very moist carrot cake. It tasted apple-y and spice-y and maple-y. Just perfect for an autumn evening.

Part The Second: Where Benny Is A Show Pony

Here, The Grub is letting me know (as the cake bakes) that his FOOD DISH is EMPTY.

Part The Third: Where I ‘Fess Up

Now, in all honesty I have to confess that this cake did NOT turn out perfectly. Here was my first hint.

Yep, in spite of a completely clean toothpick, the center of this baby was not baked. After about an hour of cooling, it looked like Apple Lava Cake.

Cool, but not 1) good 2) right.

Problem solved:

Upside Down Apple Bundt Cake!

No comment on where the middler went. Except to say that I was surprised that 12-hour old cake could be re-baked and still rise and still taste yummy. Um, I mean ‘hypothetically speaking’… right. Yes. That’s what I mean.

3 thoughts on “Sidetracked

  1. Katie Ann says:

    Completely adorable and hilarious posting, friend.
    Loved the “confession” part the best–so reflects my own baking reality!
    I’m quite entertained, as usual. 😉

    Your blog is rapidly turning into one of my favorite guilty pleasures.
    Keep it up! 😀

  2. You are too funny! Glad you find our catalogue so inspiring. 🙂

    I have a bag full of just-picked apples. I think I know what I’m doing with some of them soon…

  3. Jean says:

    Personally, I had a taste of that scrumptious cake … A truly worthwhile “sidetrack” dear one!
    Having warmed it, I plopped a dollop of ice cream on top and it was exquisite! Thanks for the amazing send off!!!

Leave a Reply

