Sew Like the Wind

Sew Like the Wind! 

Yep – that’s pretty much how it’s been around here lately. Well, minus the chickens inside the house…

There has been a LOT of sewing going on around here during the past month!  The sailboat dodger is 98% complete, just a few alterations and reinforcements remain. The dodger was a complex project, requiring me to make pattern pieces and dry fit the assembly several times to get a tight, form fit.


Remember these guys??


My patterns, drawn on the back of ugly christmas wrap that never gets used…


Getting ready to cut with a stencil (double-bladed) exacto, so I can use the pattern for both the canvas and the window vinyl.


Five new window pieces!


An early dry fit.


A  bit blurry, but you get the idea!

The rear safety panels are complete and installed on the lifelines.


Cut to size, hems pinned. Ready to sew – these guys were EASY compared to the dodger.

New winch covers are done. All the winch covers now have an elasticized inset as well to keep them from blowing off.


These were so little and cute… if only *all* the boat projects were as quick and manageable as winch covers!!

In addition, I made some quilted mats for our new bedroom furniture so the wood doesn’t get scratched. I made these ‘crazy-quilt’ style without a pattern, but they still took much longer than I anticipated. It seems like these projects always do!

Next up: sheet bags for the boat lines, and some sail repairs with a NEW(!!!) metal-geared industrial sewing machine I just bought today and should be here in a week or so. Hurrah!!

3 thoughts on “Sew Like the Wind

  1. Penny says:

    Too funny! We must have been writing at the same time!
    Just before updating my blog I checked yours for a new post and didn’t see one. After the post to my blog I check my email and caught your new entry.

    your projects look great! Aren’t you the tricky seamstress. =)

    • Shawn says:

      Doesn’t it always seem to work like that? I’m off to check yours. I’m looking forward to hearing about fibery things as you post them!

  2. MOM says:

    I take it from your blog that the Sears machine didn’t do the job?! That’s too bad. I was hoping for better results from it. Your “windows” look great though and I am so proud of the job you are doing. Luv U, M

Leave a Reply

