Winter’s not the boss of me

As the days go by, it seems that there are an increasing number of signs that Spring is on its way: the temperature is warming a few degrees, daylight lasts until after 5p.m., and we’ve even had a few rain-free days here this week.

But it still feels dark and grey and cold out most of the time, and the best way I’ve found to cope with that is to enjoy the warm and golden light of candles, surround myself with wool, and fill the house with yummy scents.

My most awesome sister had given me a gift card to King Arthur Flour for Christmas. Last week my box of specialty arrived, and I’ve been waiting with great anticipation for some time to try out some of the fabulous things.

My first view into the box of wonderfulness:

Some of the other things inside:

I’ve been itching to try that muffin mix and this morning was the perfect time to bake. As I opened the bag, the vanilla-y, citrus-y scent was incredible:

The tiny grains of super-fine sugar twinkle in the mix like tiny fairy sparkles – they must be fairy-sent because they refused to be captured by my camera. The scent and texture are delicate and perfect and I knew right away that these were going to be amazing.

I wanted to add a little something to the muffins, and decided on some of these:

…as well as some crushed toasted hazelnuts. 

Cinnamon-hazlenut muffins.

They smell delicious. I made just a half-batch, which resulted in the three big muffins in the picture above. I can’t wait to try these tonight with the Captain!

I’ve also been working on the Circles-to-Squares afghan, and I love to watch the stitches come off the hook as I crochet the first round of off-white. The tiny, colored circles turn into squares in just one round – it’s almost as much needlework magic as turning the heel on a knitted sock.

Have a happy Friday and a wonderful weekend!

One thought on “Winter’s not the boss of me

  1. Penny says:

    Shawn,
    All those muffins need is a cup of tea, a good book and a few hours to enjoy them!

    My version of Granny squares begins with a circle too. There are spokes to begin with then the third round forms the square shape. It’s a little different and we can always tell the difference between something my sis makes from my creation. =)

Leave a Reply

