Hooked

My mom and I were talking last week about all of the needlecrafts that the women on her side of the family have been passionate about. Particular among them have been crochet, quilting, embroidery, cross-stitch, and clothes-making.

I think because of my many recent knitting-related posts, my mom asked me if I knew how to crochet. This made me chuckle, because I did quite a bit of crochet when I was in high school. And, my mom was the one who bought me a set of aluminum & steel crochet needles several Christmases ago.

My treasured metal hooks

 However, after further pondering, I realize that I managed to complete only a very few – but huge – crocheted afghan projects. This is very likely what accounts for the difference in perspectives. A zillion double crochet stitches, when spread across only 4 projects, doesn’t really count as ‘a lot’ of crochet

Anyway, it got me to wondering: Did I remember how to crochet?

Happily, YES!

Circles for 'Circles to Squares' afghan

I found this pattern through Ravelry and decided to make it to match our living room, and to change it up by having multiple center circle colors. I’m also making it in wool with the thought that I’ll felt it a bit to make it soft and fuzzy and feel more substantial.

I hooked my first chain on Thursday night. By last night (Saturday), I’d already completed all the circles. Wow! I forgot how addicting and fast crochet can be when I really get into the groove. And an added bonus is that this sucker is a serious stash-buster for a bunch of worsted-weight single skeins and odds and ends of yarn I had hanging around.

It got me to thinking about other women in my family who were incredible crocheters. My Great Aunt, Totta (Thelma), probably hooked a thousand skeins of Red Heart in her time, including this afghan she made for me when I was in my early teens:

And I also have always been fascinated by the fine filigree work done by my great-grandmother (mom’s father’s mother). I think this piece I have is by her.

It is by far the least lacy and fine of the pieces I’ve seen by her; but even so, the stitches are incredibly tiny and regular and I am amazed by their precision.

Are there ties in your craft and creative pursuits that go back to family and friends? I’d love to hear about it.

One thought on “Hooked

  1. MOM says:

    Yup! that looks like Grandma Potts work alright. I still have many doilies in a cedar chest and around the house if you would like to take a look at them. Have a great week. M

Leave a Reply

