What about those “Days of the Week Chores,” huh?

Remember this post?

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/d/d2/PostcardAdvertisingHappyDayWashingMachineCirca1910.jpg
pic from Wikipedia

This is how you-all always feel when doing laundry, right??
I know that I smile like this the WHOLE time.

Well, a few months later and I have to say: this did not work out for me at all. After the first few weeks, the structure was guilt-inducing and repressive rather than providing a way for me to stay organized and on top of things.

To tell the truth, this realization was not unexpected. I don’t think that I intentionally undermined my own experiment since I really was ready to try a new process and see if my new at-home way of life would benefit as a result. But the answer was a clear and resounding NO. I felt like I was constantly at the grindstone, didn’t balance home-keeping and creative projects well, and generally got grumpy about the whole thing.

picture from web, source unknownHowever, I still want some type of structure to my weekdays. I can’t deny that I need it – both for my own sanity and to help me get things done. So I’m trying a similar, but much gentler, approach for the start of 2011: Home-making tasks and any consulting work are to be the bulk of my “working hours” M, Tu, Th, and F. Wednesday is for creative projects, coffee with friends, and other things that are a break from cleaning, laundry, home projects, and work-related efforts.

I feel good about this approach, how it provides a flexible structure within which to get things done, but still has a break in the middle for the creative things I am yearning to do – particularly creating in the kitchen and working with fiber.

I plan to check in a few more months down the road to track how it’s going.

Happy Friday!

5 thoughts on “What about those “Days of the Week Chores,” huh?

  1. Stephanie says:

    I have tried a variety of different things to get me “organized”. None have worked. I don’t know what to blame it on. I wish you luck in your endeavors. Hopefully this year will be one of more organization and completion for us both!

  2. Jean says:

    I really like the more open schedule you have set forth … including the day that allows you freedom for YOU and the things that bring life to you … on Wednesdays. Over the years, I have found patterns of effective organization include balance in structure and openness. Being more random than structured, I am learning to embrace my randomness enjoying the creativity it can bring and disciplining myself with some structure to accomplish the necessary tasks to be done! Keep writing and sharing … onward!!!

  3. Katie Ann says:

    Love the artwork, friend! I too have trouble figuring out the best system for housework. Really, I don’t generally clean unless I HAVE to (meaning people coming over, out of clean dishes or underwear). Which doesn’t make sense because I definitely prefer things clean, but I also pretty much detest the actual chores. Quite the conundrum! I’ll be interested to hear how your experiment goes! 🙂

  4. MOM says:

    Eight years into retirement and I still do my laundry on Sunday afternoons. Maybe we aren’t capable of change???

Leave a Reply

