Beauty in the Ordinary

I’ve been away from my previous traditional career for six months now, and I have loved every single minute. It’s hard for me to find words to describe the joy I feel these days, as well as the freedom and lightness of soul that has continued to grow within me as I’ve shed many of the habits and ways of being that I used to practice when I was working at a corporation.

One of the things that has been a significant part of this joy and growth and peace has been making time to find and see beauty in very ordinary things. I have been stunned many times during the past half-year by how truly beautiful the simplest things can be: a bit of brilliantly emerald moss, sunshine making a flower glow, the intricate detail of a fungus, the aggregate that was ground by a glacier into granite, the smell of fresh-brewed coffee early on a crispy-cold and sunny morning, the glint of soft evening light off puppy fur. These things hold so much for me, and I have been filled with happiness to find that my appreciation of them has only grown as I’ve had more time to enjoy and experience them. The fact that I am able to experience these things in this way feels like an incredible gift of presence and grace to me.

Today I was revisiting some pictures we took during a trip to the Carribean last winter, and it felt good to remember the beauty we saw there. The sun and salt and sea and wind work their way into everything on this little island, nothing really escapes them. But the results are breathtaking.

 

 Where have you been finding unexpected beauty in ordinary things?

2 thoughts on “Beauty in the Ordinary

  1. Katie Ann says:

    Beautiful textures! Touchable pictures. Love it.

  2. I like the photos of the rust. Rust can be pretty interesting.

Leave a Reply

