Friday catch-up

Wow, I can’t believe it’s Friday already. This week has flown by.

Baking, writing, puppies, splitting wood, good buys, home projects, sewing… all of these are just a few of the thing things going on around here this week. I thought I’d do a quick smattering of reports and maybe go into more depth in the next few posts.

Baking (and cooking)

The weather has definitely got me nesting right now. Spent time this week baking and making things in the slow-cooker. Every day the house was filled with rich smells of cookies, spices, stews, and other good things. Yay!

Peanut butter cookies:

Spice muffins with maple glaze:

Writing

November is “National Novel Writing Month,” and this is the third year I’ve participated. It’s a contest (with/against yourself and the calendar) to write a 50,000-word novel during the 30 days of November. It’s great fun, and the folks at NaNoWriMo do a fab job of keeping us participants motivated and laughing while we do this crazy thing of writing ~1667 words a day in Nov. To learn more, check out their site and the great things they do with their non-profit side of the house, Office of Letters and Light.

Puppies

Sometimes you just need to snuggle.

(Note: This picture does not do justice in showing just how tightly crammed Bendito was between my behind and the chair back. Trust me on this one – it was tight. ;-))

House projects

I’m working my way through that monster pile of wood from the trees we took down; “we” (meaning the Captain, while I looked on and ran to the hardware store for parts) installed a new water heater for my mom; and I put in some serious work in turning & aerating the compost pile. And we’ve also been doing the everyday tasks that keep home running smoothly… enough, and generally enjoying some unseasonable sunshine and very warm temperatures.

Good buys

I’ve continued to be on the lookout for great sales to stock up on our fundamentals and staples. Tinned beans and fruit for 50¢ a can, flour at amazing prices, bulk “natural” ground beef divided up into sizes right for the two of us and tucked away in the deep freeze, potatoes and onions in a cold room in the garage – as close as we’re going to get to a root cellar in this house – and drying another 2 lbs of mushrooms found on sale. There have been a number of very good sales starting as the baking and feasting time of year begins, with many good “stocking-up” items half their normal price or less.

Sewing

Boat canvas, boat canvas. Will it ever end? Let’s hope so, because I have holiday sewing to get on top of!

What have your days been filled with lately? I would love to hear.

2 thoughts on “Friday catch-up

  1. Katie Ann says:

    I’m excited for you that you’re doing the nanorimo again! If I understand correctly, that’s pretty much a full-time job right there! Good for you!

    Also, how do you get your peanut butter cookies to retain the fork impressions after baking? I followed the Betty Crocker recipe and mine always end up looking like sugar cookies; the fork impressions get baked out!

    • Shawn says:

      NaNo, if you do it “right”, is only 1667 words a day, which I can usually crank out in 90-120 minutes. The last two years I was pretty good about getting up early each morning and writing for at least an hour. This year, with nothing pushing me to leave in the a.m., I have been awful!! I am just over 5k words right now, WAY behind. We’ll see what happens, I feel a couple of big days coming on!

      I am a faithful to the Joy of Cooking’s pb cookie recipe. I love love love it, and I don’t modify it at all. I use creamy pb, and try to get everything to room temp before I mix. Then I let the dough chill for at least 30 mins. But this dough is quite stiff, and my fork hashes always stay put, and the cookies come out crisp and crumbly, just the way I like my pb cookies.

Leave a Reply

