Vibrant

 As the seasons change and each one unfurls its beauty, I tend to catch myself thinking: This season is my favorite! 

 It is true – I do treasure every season in its own time. But I have me some big-time love for Autumn. There is something about the crispness in the air, the scents of leaf mould and sun-warmed apples that linger in the outside aire, and the family contest to see who can last the longest before the heat needs to be turned on. I find myself revelling in the smell of cinnamon and spices, looking everywhere for pumpkins, and longing for the crackle of well-seasoned wood on the fire.
 
 Everything feels rich and full to me at this time of year: the air and its scents, the promise of a stocked pantry for the coming winter, the changes of color inside and out.
 
 Those blazing colors are what caught my eye today as I was wandering about, and they are what I want to share with you all. Blessings on you and your Autumn Day, and all the vibrancy and richness it will bring your way!
 
So many colors captured on just one leaf
Such a brilliant yellow-green! And the magenta stems and tiniest outline on the newest leaves.

The pink hydrangea is deepening into magenta as the days grow cooler.

The last blue lacecap; the rest are turning rusty antique colors for fall.

Brilliant yellow mums against their forest-green foliage. A striking contrast in the early morning sunshine.

The holly berries are turning bright red. Note my photographer’s assistant, Mr. Gunner Pants, mugging for a cameo.

More mushrooms, still no idea what I’ve got in the yard. That mycology guild meeting later this month is looking more interesting by the day.

A lone leaf of English Ivy that has brilliant red and bright yell0w-green coloring (the light in this picture is not doing the colors justice). The only one I saw like this, wonder what’s behind the amazing coloration.

May your day be Vibrant!

2 thoughts on “Vibrant

  1. Angela says:

    Shawn,

    I love this post 🙂 Great job capturing the beauty of the fall with your words and pictures. I always struggle with the transition from summer to fall but once its here, I totally embrace it. The colors, smells and tastes are glorious! Hope you’re having a blessed day!

    • Shawn says:

      Thanks Angela! I appreciate your words because I think you do a great job yourself of capturing feelings and moments with words. Blessings on you!

Leave a Reply

