Change of Seasons

IMG_1758 (800x644)

Goodness, but it’s been a while!

Such a busy summer with lots of weekend travels and working at the still-new-to-me job. But after a beautiful, long late summer Autumn is finally in the air and I have to say I am ready.

The past few weeks have been filled with canning (apples and salsa verde) and dehydrating (peppers, onions, and herbs). I’ve finally baked a few morning-coffee things, and cinnamon and spice smell incredible right now. It’s just so right for this time of year.

Nesting is setting in, too. I’ve made new pillow covers for some throw pillows, washed all the fabric curtains in the house, and am in the middle of a deep dusting everywhere. You know, the kind where you get up on a ladder with the vacuum’s hose attachment.

Knitting was almost non-existent around here this summer. After the Knot Hysteria retreat, it was as if I was topped-off on fiber for a while. But lately I’ve been churning out Puffs.

I’ve reached a grand total of 69. (I found 5 more on my desk after I took this photo!)

And… Angelberry is finished! As soon as it goes to its new owner I will post pictures of the final steps and the stole in all of its sparkling glory.

In a walk around the yard today (in between the rain showers), it’s evident that the transition of seasons is well underway. The hydrangea are getting rusty.

Brilliant colors are all around, but not quite yet everywhere.

The hosta are making one last statement of autumn beauty.

Benny and I saw our first spawning salmon of the year, and we were lucky enough to watch it wiggle its way up the creek.

Happy Autumn!

7 thoughts on “Change of Seasons

  1. katie ann says:

    Yay! Good to see you back, friend. Beautiful colors both outside and in! LOVE fall!

  2. freshy says:

    Love your pictures! You’ve captured fall beautifully. I can’t wait to see pictures of your finished Angelberry :)

  3. MOM says:

    And I am so excited about your finishing MY Angelberry and for the opportunity to wear it soon. Loved your fall colors and know they will continue to provide you with beautiful fall picture taking.

  4. What lovely pictures! I see you’ve been bitten by the hexipuff bug too. I haven’t made a single one -yet. Still, I keep admiring that Beekeeper’s Quilt” on Ravelry…

    • Shawn says:

      It’s a “bug” for sure. If you want to read about my downward spiral of losing control to the BKQ, read my post “Nope, Not Me!” I hope you love it. :-)

Leave a Reply

