The View from the 24th Floor

I’ve been away from corporate life for two years now, twenty-four months.

In thinking about this lately, I feel that the time and distance has afforded me a different perspective from what I had at the end of my time in corporate life. The difference in the two perspectives reminds me of difference in the two pictures below, taken in Hawaii when the Captain and I were in Waikiki last year.

A picture from the street level, of the beautiful foliage all around:

A picture taken later that evening, from 24 floors straight up in the air and facing in the same direction:

Both sights are lovely, each has really wonderful elements. But there is something incredible about that huge, open view that takes so much more into account.

Perspective. It’s fascinating.

That change in perspective about work has left me rested and ready for something new…. So after a two-years’ break, I am returning to work.

I am returning, but in an entirely different way. Instead of returning to a corporate environment, I am now part of a specialized business in Technical Communications staffing and project management. Instead of running all-out at breakneck speed, I am intentionally keeping my hours low. The plan is to fulfill my brain and contribute the type of work I truly love, while retaining a good amount of space – mental and schedule – so I can still prioritize my family, home, and creative passions.

 As of today, I am about a month into this new endeavor; I am still trying out many options to find the right balance point for everything, but with the perspective I have gained over the past years, as well as the intentional decisions I have already made, I know that the balance point will be found soon.

Contemporary Insanity continues, though perhaps everything here will be seen through a new lens. What will it be like to explore my creative passions in meaningful ways while back at work? Even with (perhaps particularly with) my new non-traditional work approach, where will my creative fulfillment come from? What will it be like to work from a location remote from most of my team? Will I ever find enough time to spin yarn for an entire sweater?

Let’s go forward together and search out the answers to these questions — and many more.

4 thoughts on “The View from the 24th Floor

  1. MOM says:

    I look forward to your perspective on the new non-traditional work approach versus the ability to include enough time to satisfy your creative endeavors and time for yourself.

  2. Michelle says:

    Congrats on this new adventure Aunt Shawn! I’d love to hear more about what you are doing… are you working from home or the office? How exciting! Hope you are enjoying it!

    • Shawn says:

      Hi Michelle! Thanks for your sweet comment here. I’ll send you an email with a nice, juicy update! Much love, Shawn

  3. Sarah says:

    Welcome back to corporate life! Glad to hear you had a creative break and you’re able to work a reduced schedule – certainly helps maintain ones sanity! I’d love to hear more about what you’re doing, it’s been forever since we’ve caught up.

Leave a Reply

